COMMUNITY

NEED HELPRuns in Directx 11 slow-mo but doesn't run in directx9 with steam
2 years ago  ::  Apr 14 2012 - 12:40AM
Posts: 2 Joined: Apr 14, 2012

I have steam, my PC specs can run Saints Row in DX11 but it's plays in slow-mo, i've also installed DX9. but still i can't play Saints Row in DX 9. What should i do? when i open it in Directx 9, it doesn't respond as i open it.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Apr 17 2012 - 7:37PM
Posts: 59 Joined: Apr 13, 2012

I'm expirencing this same issue as well. Saints Row lags really bad for me in Direct 11 for the past four days so it's not only you. Let's hope an update corrects this issue!

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Apr 29 2012 - 9:41AM
Posts: 56 Joined: Nov 25, 2011

what are your specs? running NVIDIA or AMD? Tried "veryify integrity of game cache"?

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Apr 30 2012 - 1:57PM
Posts: 223 Joined: Oct 29, 2011

I noticed what appears to be a 10-15 fps drop in performance since the last steam client update.  I set lighting and shadows to low and that got me right back up to 35-50 outdoors and 55-60 indoors, but prior to the last Steam client update, I'm pretty sure I was getting those numbers with the settings on high.  To be fair, I'm using a 450 GTS, and I believe the recommended gpu requirement is a 400 series gtx, which if I remember correctly, the gtx is a notch above the gts, while the gts is a notch above the gt.  As for my cpu, I'm using an I5-2300 2.8 and 4 gigs of ddr3 for ram, but all of that is rather irrelevant since I didn't notice the drop around the time there was the steam client update and when I got the Special ops dlc. 

And I did the defrag/scandisk/sfc thing, as well as totally wiping Eset from my system, and running ccleaner on the ol registry, I even went as far as just doing an entirely new Windows 7 installation.  None of that helped.. and the weird thing is dropping the res from 1920x1080 to 1400x900 didn't either, it only got better when I dropped lighting and shadows to low.  But yet I can set reflections to DX10/DX11 without any change in performance, and the same goes with post processing.  

But while running a few tests, I also found a few other things I never noticed before.  When using some of the faster cars, such as the one that resembles a lamborghinni, I noticed when going in reverse things can be a bit choppy, and one of the planes at the airport, if I nosedive it into the ocean, the game will lag hardcore, but it only seems to happen with one of the planes at the airport, the A-10 and the propeller passenger plane, they don't have the issue, only the luxury jet in the airport crib seems to have the issue.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  May 2 2012 - 8:37PM
Posts: 56 Joined: Nov 25, 2011

Have you updated your video card drivers since it started happening? 

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  May 2 2012 - 11:03PM
Posts: 223 Joined: Oct 29, 2011

I was using the Nvidia 295.73 drivers when it started happening, so I jumped to the 296.10 drivers to see if that would help.  Not only did it not help a bit but the 296.10 drivers were actually buggy. So when I did the new W7 installation, I went back tousing the 295.73 drivers since it obviously wasn't a driver issue.  I'm going to try running Steam in offline mode next.  Steam so far isn't winning any points iwth me.  I've noticed if my net connection drops while I'm playing SR3 with steam in online mode, I'll get lil 2-3 second freeze due to Steam losing connection.  This is why I always thought it was stupid for games to require an online connection since there's no such thing as a 100% stable 24/7 connection with dynamic ip's, and the majority of isp's use dynamic. 

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  May 2 2012 - 11:34PM
Posts: 56 Joined: Nov 25, 2011

Try the Beta nvidia drivers (301.24 64-bit - www.geforce.com/drivers/results/43560 or 301.24 32-bit www.geforce.com/drivers/results/43559) and see if it still crashes with the last steam update. Uninstall the Nvidia drivers you have now including PhysX along with anything else that has nvidia in the list (incl. Nvidia Update & HD Audio Driver if it were previously installed. You may have to restart the computer after each item) and when you reinstall the drivers choose "custom install" and check the box that says "clean install" and uncheck the software you don't use (3D Vision, Nvidia Update etc) and see if there's any improvement. Is your windows7 32bit or 64bit? Apart from Special Ops, do you have any other DLC installed? 


*** If you have problems with the installer saying the PhysX failed to install its because there's a couple of registry entries that hasn't been removed. Uninstall the drivers and run CCleaner Registry Cleaner and it should come across some PhysX DLL entries, delete them all and run the installer again. ***

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  May 6 2012 - 2:59AM
Posts: 223 Joined: Oct 29, 2011

See if what still crashes? 

I'm not experiencing crashes, it just seems the game got a lil slower since the last Steam update.  But I'm just going to leave lighting set to low, the framerate stays at 37-45 outdoors which is sufficient.  The only time it drops to 25 fps is if my character is right next to something exploding but it isn't noticable.  I just prefer to do set lighting to low than use beta drivers because well, I used beta drivers nvida put out years back for my old 8600 and they fried the card.  From then on, I only install officially released drivers, and only after they've been out for a few weeks so I can check the forum and make sure there aren't a lot of people *$%?@!*# about them.


As for other dlc..

I have all of the dlc installed except for the cheat pack.

Oh, and I noticed Duke Nukem: Forever seemed to get just a touch slower since the last Steam update as well.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  May 6 2012 - 4:05AM
Posts: 56 Joined: Nov 25, 2011

Sorry i meant "clashes" lolz. Sometimes even one update to a video card or steam update can have compatibility issues and beta drivers frying a video card? i doubt a driver could have been a problem, worst i could think happen from any driver (BETA or official release) is the BSOD. 


Quick Reply
Cancel