COMMUNITY

Low FPS on Saints row 3
2 years ago  ::  Mar 2 2012 - 12:20AM
Posts: 169 Joined: Sep 17, 2011

I have win 7 64
i7-975
12 gb ram
dual 6990

I get low fps and it looks horrible.  What can I do to make the game playable?  its to ugly on the low settings.

do I need another 6990 and run in trifire to play the game? 

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 2 2012 - 11:57PM
Posts: 243 Joined: Jan 15, 2012

Probably the ATI not working so well with this game issue.


 Philtastic might have a suggestion , he is a ATI User.



 My only suggestion is to try non sli mode and run single card mode if ya can to see how it goes.



 I would not think a 3rd card would do any good other than cost more money.



The game can run great, on certain hardware.


 Erm, not what you want to hear so I won't post my current FPS i see. Funny thing is since the last patch and a driver


update from GPU maker, I'm seeing 10fps boost in situations in the game over what I had reported in another thread


a week or so ago.



 All I can suggest otherwise is to poke around in some of the ATI threads related to this game here and on the Steam forum related


to this game.


 And, bring something soft to chew on might save some teeth grating.


Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 3 2012 - 1:08AM
Posts: 169 Joined: Sep 17, 2011

What? I have video cards their brand new why wouldnt they work?  I dont understand what you mean saying it is my cards, also they are diamond it said on the box diamond 6990, i didnt see ATI, then again i just buy things doesnt mean I know what it means.  I tested this game on my other computer which is the EXACT SAME except the video cards their dual gpu nvidia and it works fine.  But i dont like using the other computer since it is at my desk.  I just want it to work please.  I am big fan of sr2 i still play it i dun get why 3 doesnt work.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 3 2012 - 1:15PM
Posts: 352 Joined: Sep 17, 2011

Your problem is probably due to Crossfire mode (ie. using dual GPUs - a 6990 in fact is two video cards in one) not working properly due to outdated drivers. I'd recommend going to AMD/ATI's website and updating to the newest drivers AND the newest Catalyst Application Profiles which are super important for Crossfire to work (sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/do...).


As GetsumBent suggested, you can also turn off one of your GPUs and run in single GPU mode which would probably fix the problem as well. You can do this in the Catalyst Control Centre (CCC) by unchecking the "Enable Crossfire" box in one of the panels there.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 4 2012 - 12:47AM
Posts: 169 Joined: Sep 17, 2011

I just got the cards a day ago so they ahve latest drivers, their not outdated.  Why would I turn off my GPU's, I have 4 GPUS.  That would make it work less good, like if I used a laser to burn out 7 of my 8 cores in my I7-975, they are there to INCREASE performance not decrease it.


If that is the option, then I would like to know how to play the game using all 4 GPU's like on my nvidia machine that work fine, now it need work with AMD.  How many GPU's do I need to play the game?


Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 4 2012 - 1:10PM
Posts: 352 Joined: Sep 17, 2011


I just got the cards a day ago so they ahve latest drivers, their not outdated.  Why would I turn off my GPU's, I have 4 GPUS.  That would make it work less good, like if I used a laser to burn out 7 of my 8 cores in my I7-975, they are there to INCREASE performance not decrease it.




You would turn off some of your GPUs because it's a well known issue that having more than 1 GPU tends to have problems with lots of games. This is called negative scaling where adding a second GPU actually lowers your framerate. Also, you only effectively have 2 GB of RAM available out of the 8 GB since each GPU acts independently rendering frames. 2 GB is still sufficient, however, unless you're powering 3 monitors at 5760x1080 or higher.


Often drivers that ship with a graphics card can be a couple of months old so it's always a good idea to get the latest from the website. You also probably haven't installed the latest Catalyst Applications Profile (CAP) that is required for Crossfire to work properly with the latest games (eg. SR3 which does not work with Crossfire unless you have, I think, 11.12 CAP or greater).


Both Crossfire and SLI are, in my opinion, garbage solutions due to all of the compatibilty issues and hassle with a very low performance per dollar value due to diminishing returns as you go over 60 fps which the best single GPU cards can general do for half the price... unless you're aiming for super sampling in every game or stereoscopic 3D, in which case, yeah, you'll need dual GPUs to maintain framerate.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 4 2012 - 1:59PM
Posts:

Not sure if this is possible with ATi


Turn off Physics or do not deticate Physics to one card. Let the driver failover on both cards this solves alot of my low FPS problems with my Nvidia cards in SLi on many games.


This setting would be in the video card control panel not in game.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 8 2012 - 1:00AM
Posts: 169 Joined: Sep 17, 2011

The game makers are dumb if they cant amke it work with regular gaming cards like a 6990.  or 2 of em.  Why make a game for pc if they want you to shut down the processors? 



anyone found a bug fix to make the game work so i can play it?  I need more fps, I dont want to play it without high fps.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 8 2012 - 9:29PM
Posts: 2 Joined: Mar 8, 2012

There is a very simple bug fix to solve your problem BridgetFisher and that fix will need to be in your logic. As the others attempted to help you understand I will do my best make perfectly clear. First off just to clear the air of doubt a bit, I'm a certified and well respected IT Professional in PC (Windows 9x-7 including Server 2K-08), Apple (Mac OS6-10), and related hardware. Now lets review your basic concerns/points of low FPS and the issues of offered resolves defeating your systems purpose design.


PC Basics: to understand everything offered you must first understand the factors involved. The build of your system like the parts you buy for it motherboard including chipset choice, CPU, Graphics card, hard, sound card, etc.. are just the baseline of what your system might be able to do. What makes the parts work are dependant on compatability of the parts, firmware, and software (including OS) choices.


Your Setup: Intel Core i7 975, 12GB RAM (DDR3 assumed), Dual ATI 6990 Dual GPU 2GB/GPU (Diamond is the manufacturer not the GPU maker), Chipset was not listed, running on Windows 7 64bit. First off ATI is owned by AMD and its likely you have an Intel chipset on your motherboard which is not likely to be Crossfire certified but able to run it. Second you are defeating performance, especially with an ATI card by running a dual GPU in a Crossfire for use on a gaming system for your use. PCIe x16 which has 16 total lines per x16 bus. In a system that has the right chipset for it you can run 2 physically separate GPUs at x16 each card. In your system each card is running 2 GPUs which means each of the 4 total GPUs are running at a crippled x8 half speed for gaming. Dual GPUs on one card benefit in specific situations but not for gaming until the physics computational needs become heavy enough to harness one card for physics and one for graphics to work hand in hand. Something NVidia's Fermi GPUs are able to do easily and ATI's crippled speed cards are not.


Software Information & issue fix: SR3 is actually programmed very well for a game in general. What you must understand is that most well made games rely heavily on the drivers for the GPU instead of overides. Also keep in mind that in current GPU driver design they already have a great deal of the handling and even overides devoted to them despite game design. so with this in mind the issues you have are with the GPU drivers and not SR3 because its the way the ATI drivers are having the rendering handled by the ATI cards. This is why making sure Windows 7 64bit, DirectX, and ATI drivers are current as possible because they are the foundation to your performance ability. Without detailed research to confirm it, I am venturing to guess the ATI drivers are mishandling the rendering. If you have it set to Crossfire across all 4 cards then the theoretical rendering scheme is to load balance the graphic rendering and physics handling over all 4 at the same time. Keep in mind you are doing this at x8 not x16 PCIe bus line performance per card, and if your running SR3 on only one screen you are making the rendering be handled on 4 but then transfered back to one. Which if you just had one card active you would be running it at x16 and non of the moving it back to one card which would bottleneck it further. The only way to improve this is for ATI to build a better scheme in the ATI drivers to properly handle the rendering. which once again roots back to you needing to update your ATI drivers.


PS... There is many more factors in your setup that will cripple it in comparison to the NVidia SLI setup. I would venture to bet in the future as games become more computation heavy you will find the ATI cards are not even half as powerful as the NVidia Fermi GPUs. Also keep in mind that AMD is a competitor to Intel, so you will likely be seeing issues related to that with your ATI cards also. just some things to keep in mind.


I never advise someone build their own PC unless they have had someone like myself as a consultant. There are so many factors in a proper build to acheave best performance and reliability that unless you know what your doing then its best to leave it to a professional. FYI, I run SR3 at 40-60FPS @ 720p mid to high graphics on Intel Core2Duo 6600 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2 PC6400 RAM, Intel P43 Chipset, NVidia GT 440 - 1GB DDR3, CreativeLabs X-Fi Ti PCIe Sound Card, Windows 7 64bit Ultimate. Its not about high end parts that make a powerful system. Its about the way the parts work hand in hand and how you get the software to use it. Better design will always dominate. Pardon my spelling I was typing this quickly.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Mar 8 2012 - 10:22PM
Posts: 352 Joined: Sep 17, 2011


snip




Ok, I said I wouldn't do any more tech support here since Volition isn't fixing the performance issues in the game but I really, really have to point out that this guy is full of bullshit.


Firstly, every benchmark of dual GPUs proves that you have no idea about the pros and cons of dual GPUs. The following are benchmarks between the Radeon 6970 and the 6990 (effectively 2 6970's):
www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/509?vs=5... 


As you can see, Crossfire works pretty damn well, netting you almost 2x the framerate which you would expect from having two GPUs.


Physics is only done on GPU if you enable Nvidia's proprietary "Physx"... and SR3 does not support that. In fact, most games do not support Physx. Even Nvidia cards, however, are "crippled" when it comes to Physx. You can see some assorted benchmarks for  Batman: Arkham City below. Note how framerate gets cut in half and, at 1080p in DX11, you need a GTX 570/580 to average over 30 fps (ie. dips below 30). Most people recommend having a 2nd Nvidia card solely to do Physx because it's generally too much for a single card to do:
physxinfo.com/news/6922/batman-arkham-ci... 


I don't even know why you bring up GPU drivers vs. overrides. You are correct, however, in that drivers are probably the issue (as I noted above in a previous post). Bridget probably doesn't have the Catalyst Application Profile (CAP) that is required for Crossfire to even work with the game. You can get that here:
support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/P...
Get both the Catalyst Software Suite and the AMD Catalyst Application Profiles. Install both.


Finally, you were sort of correct that, in terms of compute performance, AMD has been lagging behind. This, however, generally has no bearing on video games since very, very few (if any) games appreciably use compute for anything. AMD has also fixed this issue with their 7000 series of GPUs. Here are some benchmarks of the 7970 vs. the GTX 580 in terms of compute performance. The 7970 is sometimes higher, even, or slightly lower than the much vaunted 580 Fermi:
 www.anandtech.com/show/5261/amd-radeon-h...

Quick Reply
Cancel