COMMUNITY

why can't i unlock or buy the laser guns from Gangsters in Space?
2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 12:51PM
vvave
Posts: 222

Hmmm who knows. All we can do is give our best feedback for the next game. They do rely on us more than you think!

2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 4:04PM
Acegunn
Posts: 42

I will give em' a S rank for the effort. If we see SR4 on this gen of systems the possiblity is there that we will see this limitation pop up again.


2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 5:36PM
Corporatist
Posts: 63


I wanted to give all of you an official response from some programmers and artists here, so you all understand why the DLC weapons aren't usable in the main game. See below:


Based on the community feedback we received on SR2’s DLC content, we wanted to provide our players with more content to choose from; spread out in more packages that released closer to the main game’s launch, instead of waiting 9 months for the first pack. This was a new model for us one thing we did not adequately plan for with all the additional DLC content was additional memory. In the past, we had a few small mission packs that came with other smaller pieces, and we’re attempting something different this time. The simple reason why the DLC weapons are not brought over to the main story / city is purely due to one thing - memory. As many of you know, open-world titles are built much differently than linear titles, and a certain portion of that is devoted to our weapons. Every weapon you equip carries with it the mesh for all levels of the upgrades. We turn parts of the weapon on and off based on what level the player has upgraded their weapon to, but it still carries with it the mesh memory for all levels of upgrades. Before the DLC hit, we were at the upper echelon of memory usage (which includes the DLC for Z-Style, Future Soldier, Funtime!, and Moneyshot).


So, we only had enough memory available during open-world gameplay for at most X weapons. But we still wanted to add new weapons with our missions packs. Our team worked some clever magic and found a happy medium in which we could add new weapons, as long as their use was limited to only the new missions. More specifically, these weapons are stealing memory that is normally dedicated to store mission data. That memory isn’t available for us to use in any other context.



We fully wanted to bring these new weapons back into the main game, but the memory issues have kept it at bay. Please note that we’ve seen all the feedback each of you have posted here on the forums, and will be taking that into consideration for all future titles made at Volition.




 I can understand why that might be necessary for SR3 on consoles, but there should be no reason for them to be unavailable on the PC version. Modders will just add them in, anyway.

2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 6:37PM
stevig
Posts: 124

I'm curious as to why the game actually gave me the photon pistol to use though after finishing Gangstas in Space. Yes, the pistol is invisible in your hand and it doesn't make a noise nor can you see the lasers but it's there and actually firing and hitting things...

2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 7:53PM
CrashBT
Posts: 272


I'm curious as to why the game actually gave me the photon pistol to use though after finishing Gangstas in Space. Yes, the pistol is invisible in your hand and it doesn't make a noise nor can you see the lasers but it's there and actually firing and hitting things...




As posted in another thread, you get the alien pistol when you perform a pistol execution on the "alien" brute. Even if there's memory trouble, they could've just used one weapon as an unlockable. The Alien SMG is too similar to the Cyber SMG, and the Alien Rifle takes the explosive slot, where there's better weapons than that. This just leaves the Alien Pistol. Its still functions without the mesh outside the mission. Even if it can't be a mission reward, it could be added to buy from Friendly Fire. Like how the TOGO-13 weapon, from the Money Shot DLC, costs $900,000 despite it already gets added to the weapon cache.

2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 8:22PM
StPatrick
Posts: 226


I wanted to give all of you an official response from some programmers and artists here, so you all understand why the DLC weapons aren't usable in the main game. See below:


*snip*


We fully wanted to bring these new weapons back into the main game, but the memory issues have kept it at bay. Please note that we’ve seen all the feedback each of you have posted here on the forums, and will be taking that into consideration for all future titles made at Volition.




This has implications that I'm not sure I like.  What would this mean for the appearance of new weapons in Saints Row 4?


Also, is this in part why most of the DLC weapons can't be upgraded?

2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 8:23PM
juggalopsycho
Posts: 55

i dont see how that works its open world not all shoved into a 1 foot box

2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 8:27PM
Corporatist
Posts: 63

Because it's hard to get modern games to work properly on console hardware. Most of it is 7-8 years old.

2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 8:38PM
MidKnigh7
Posts: 148

Just another reason why they need to wait for better console tech. Work on something else. You don't need to just crank out Saints games. I don't want to see a series I have been with since I got my 360 be turned into a ****ty yearly cash grab.

2 years ago  ::  Feb 24 2012 - 8:44PM
malapersona
Posts: 25

I can understand the explanation of the developers but what about my pc? 2gb of vram , 6gb of ram and 6 cpu cores. I think that can handle a lot of weapons , meshes , textures and so on. 


It could be a little unfair to launch a patch  only  for the pc but  and it also unfair we cant get the proper experience due to technical limitations of a platforms we are not even using.


 Theres a pretty succesful game that recently released free high res texture dlc  and mod tools only for the pc, you could follow that example.


 


so why dont we get all the weapons in the proper platform