COMMUNITY

A potential culprit behind lag in SRIII.
2 years ago  ::  Feb 7 2012 - 3:32PM
taiiat
Posts: 6

i've noticed that while playing SRIII, Steam proceeds to use ~half the CPU cycles that SRIII is, constantly. the amount of horsepower the game is using on it's own wouldn't lag, but that plus whatever the hell Steam is going in the background, does cause a problem.
i've slightly helped this by manually forcing steam to use one core while playing SRIII so it can't eat my entire machine while i'm playing. but that only helps so much.
i suggest this is looked into, and mended. if SRIII is using steam to Constantly upload tons of statistics and that's why Steam is using huge amounts of CPU cycles, why not have statistics be updated only when there is something to update - or when the game is saved, etc.
if that is not why Steam is doing this, then whatever it is, fix it.


Hopefully representatives of VALVe and Volition / THQ notice this thread and look into this.

Thread on the Steam forums located forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthrea...



(by the way, i've also noticed that while my CPU is being eaten while playing, my GPU is almost entirely idle.)




Edit: My specs, as per request.  http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14355992/Files/RIG%20specs.txt


interesting that these forums don't recognize that as a link.

2 years ago  ::  Feb 7 2012 - 9:03PM
Sim7447
Posts: 16


i've noticed that while playing SRIII, Steam proceeds to use ~half the CPU cycles that SRIII is, constantly. the amount of horsepower the game is using on it's own wouldn't lag, but that plus whatever the hell Steam is going in the background, does cause a problem.
i've slightly helped this by manually forcing steam to use one core while playing SRIII so it can't eat my entire machine while i'm playing. but that only helps so much.
i suggest this is looked into, and mended. if SRIII is using steam to Constantly upload tons of statistics and that's why Steam is using huge amounts of CPU cycles, why not have statistics be updated only when there is something to update - or when the game is saved, etc.
if that is not why Steam is doing this, then whatever it is, fix it.


Hopefully representatives of VALVe and Volition / THQ notice this thread and look into this.

Thread on the Steam forums located .



(by the way, i've also noticed that while my CPU is being eaten while playing, my GPU is almost entirely idle.)




Fixed the link to the SPUF thread for you.


I have no idea how it got all mucked up, but it did (for me, anyway).

2 years ago  ::  Feb 8 2012 - 11:51AM
taiiat
Posts: 6

hm. that link was fine when i checked it right before posting, but *shrugs*. Danke anyways.



actually, it seems these forums cut links if they're too long, and if it's inside a URL tag, it ends up being cut and having a bunch of gibberish in it. -_-

2 years ago  ::  Feb 8 2012 - 3:37PM
GetsumBent
Posts: 243



i've noticed that while playing SRIII, Steam proceeds to use ~half the CPU cycles that SRIII is, constantly. the amount of horsepower the game is using on it's own wouldn't lag, but that plus whatever the hell Steam is going in the background, does cause a problem.
i've slightly helped this by manually forcing steam to use one core while playing SRIII so it can't eat my entire machine while i'm playing. but that only helps so much.
i suggest this is looked into, and mended. if SRIII is using steam to Constantly upload tons of statistics and that's why Steam is using huge amounts of CPU cycles, why not have statistics be updated only when there is something to update - or when the game is saved, etc.
if that is not why Steam is doing this, then whatever it is, fix it.


Hopefully representatives of VALVe and Volition / THQ notice this thread and look into this.

Thread on the Steam forums located .



(by the way, i've also noticed that while my CPU is being eaten while playing, my GPU is almost entirely idle.)




Fixed the link to the SPUF thread for you.


I have no idea how it got all mucked up, but it did (for me, anyway).




 Hmm, Interesting.


 Your post would be of more use if you would post system specifics. Like which op system WIn7 32 or 64 bit, and hardware specs.


 I'm curious to know what CPU your system is using.


 I don't have anything to offer that would be of help other than to suggest you always list system specs when making posts like this,


as people who CAN have more insight have something to work with and someone might be able to connect some dots.



 Reason I state that I've not noted that behaviour here and I run this game almost every day the past month and Steam is running


here all the time for some years now.   I'Ll say this though, I"ve had apps of various sorts that sometimes go amok in Windows


and never do find out why, at times. If I suspect they are a runaway CPU hog I terminate them in Task Manager with a shot to the head.


 Let the process restart to see if it settles down. They usually do after a boot to the head.



System:
Windows 7 64 | 8GB RAM, Asus MB P8Z68-V PRO R1.xx, CPU: Intel i7-2600K,
GPU: Nvidia GTX 580, Drivers:Usually latest WHQL or beta,
Display: Dell U2410 1920x1200, Mouse: Logitech G5
RAM: Corsair XMP1600


 

2 years ago  ::  Feb 9 2012 - 11:41AM
taiiat
Posts: 6


 Reason I state that I've not noted that behaviour here and I run this game almost every day the past month and Steam is running



here all the time for some years now.   I'Ll say this though, I"ve had apps of various sorts that sometimes go amok in Windows



and never do find out why, at times. If I suspect they are a runaway CPU hog I terminate them in Task Manager with a shot to the head.



 Let the process restart to see if it settles down. They usually do after a boot to the head.



i've waited for steam to stop whatever it's doing for hours, but it continues to stay the same the entire time SRIII is running. 


i wouldn't kill steam, since i use it for so many things, but as i've said, i heavily throttle it so it can't much. 



also as per request, my specs are in the OP.

2 years ago  ::  Feb 9 2012 - 2:49PM
GetsumBent
Posts: 243

I'm at a loss to suggest anything. Something weird is up though.



 I followed that dropbox link and your system rather resembles the one I had before my current system,


it was a core 2 duo system with a GTX285 which ran both xp and Win 7 64 later  on.


 Plenty beefy enough.  I don't recall Steam ever going bonkers like that.


 Maybe reinstall Steam, worth a shot. Should be able to do that without messing up your current STeam library.


  If it is only with this game running that is even odder, this happens with no other Steam system games there?


Later today I'll fire up the game and track its and steams CPU use here using Win 7 resource monitor cause , what the heck, maybe


I'm wrong and Steam is piggy and I"ve just not noticed it on this system. Graphs should tell.



If I see something bizzare I'll post back .



EDIT. Well after about a hour game time I can report that STeam is using less than 1 percent of the system CPU usage,


and the game itself is only tugging at 20 to 25 percent . I checked to see if steam was using more during game use and could


see nothing above 1 percent.


 Whatever is going on is something weird there and I'm sure it is case specific as this most likely is not a generic issue.


  I can't point fingers at a AMD system as your not using that.


 I'd really give it a whirl and just reinstall STeam and see if that does something. Where to go after that is a open book.


GOod luck.


2 years ago  ::  Feb 10 2012 - 12:11AM
GetsumBent
Posts: 243

 I saw Steam had another client update tonight after the one they had a few days ago.


 When I saw the patch notes I thought of this thread.



 Fouind this info on the Steam forums.


forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthrea...



 So it must be some issue with 2 core machines due to some **** up with coding in the earlier update, is my guess.


 Only thing wrong I had noticed was the Steam browser was acting stupid, that too they say is fixed up.



 HOpefully the latest patch fixes it for you.



2 years ago  ::  Feb 14 2012 - 12:30PM
taiiat
Posts: 6

well, oddly enough, when i went to that thread and started reading, steam notified me of an update that was just released. heh.



anyways though, i've had the problem in only SRIII AFAIK, i don't have many other games that really use up all my CPU cycles on steam, i have many intensive games, but Bad Company 2 is the closest thing to something that eats my CPU enough for me to notice, and i barely play it with BF3 and all. 


though i'll go check right now and see if other games experience this, and if that update just now fixed it for SRIII.


(by the way, i always launch games in steam either from the tray, or from the main window and close it after i launch the game.)



edit: well, it's definitely not fixed. http://i.imgur.com/NcI9f.png


what i really don't entirely understand is what steam is doing that's using that many CPU cycles. SRIII has 3D redering and AI to do and (yes, steam is horribly inefficiently programmed and moving one of the 10 million pictures it's built out of causes huge CPU spikes because the program is **** in this aspect[not that i'm saying Steam is ****, just it's programming is.]) Steam doesn't really have much to do, just change the location of pictures and such. 


and, after testing on several different games on various engines, SRIII appears to be the only one with this problem (i'm not going to check everything in my library, but i checked probably 10% of it.).


so my issue is somewhat similar to that thread you showed me, but it definitely isn't the same problem, it's something to do with SRIII and Steam. 



:< if this was fixed i could enjoy co-op so much more. 

2 years ago  ::  Mar 6 2012 - 1:31PM
taiiat
Posts: 6

I recently found out of i manually optimized the other way round, and forced steam to use only core0 and leave core1 more open for SRIII, my framerate about doubles and the game stutters like 300% less.


i don't get why this is, but it works better, and whatever, i'm not going to complain.



so that helps a lot, but it's still rather stupid that this problem exists. but in the meantime, the game runs alright now, and it's a lot more fun.
this doesn't mean that this problem shouldn't be fixed however.