COMMUNITY

Crashing at startup
3 years ago  ::  Nov 15 2011 - 1:31AM
Posts: 5 Joined: Nov 15, 2011

I have the Steam version of Saints Row 3. After the AMD logo shows up, I get a crash to desktop on both DX9 and DX10/11 versions. I also had the same problems with the character creator released earlier. I was able to solve that by copying the folder from my G drive, where Steam was intalled, to my C drive (main drive, ssd, limited space), but that did not work this time.


Here is my 32-bit dxdiag (before beta drivers): pastebin.com/rEFLfnmY


I just tried the latest posted beta drivers from nvidia as well and that didn't help either.

Here is the latest 32-bit dxdiag from the beta drivers: pastebin.com/R5iq0a2w


This is the output from the 64-bit dxdiag: pastebin.com/XkCvKBNN


To resummarize:
- i7 950, 24gb ram, gtx 580
- I cannot make it to the main menu, I crash at the second logo screen.
- I've tried updating graphics drivers, but I don't think that's an issue.
- My main windows drive is on C: and Steam is ran from G:. I think the problem lies here with this game because of similar issues with the character creator.
- The PC itself should be fine: I play SR2, GTA4, Skyrim, BF3, Fallout 3/New Vegas, and many other games on Steam just fine.


I hope this issue can be resolved soon, I've really been looking forward to playing this game and now that it's out I can't.

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Nov 15 2011 - 1:46PM
Posts: 5 Joined: Nov 15, 2011

Bump: I wanted to post an important update. I found a small work around for now:


- I replicated the entire Steam directory from my G: drive to my C: drive.
--- Since space is an issue, the layout of the steamapps folder is as follows (I only copied SR3 files):
steamapps\
steamapps\common\
steamapps\common\saints row the third\ [entire folder copied]
steamapps\sourcemods [empty]
steamapps\saints row the third binaries.ncf
steamapps\saints row the third main.ncf
steamapps\sourceinit.gcf
steamapps\winui.gcf


- I set compatiblity mode on Steam to require Administrator. You have to permanently ignore the check recommending against comaptiblity mode.


- I run game_launcher.exe from the C: drive and choose the version (DX 10/11 in my case)


- The UAC dialog pops up for Steam.exe: choose No. If you choose Yes, it still crashes.



Now everything magically works, both DX9 and DX10/11 versions start fine without crashes and I can get to the main menu!


I've not tested the game yet, but I wanted to post this in hopes someone from the dev team can read it and work out the problem.

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Nov 15 2011 - 2:00PM
Posts: 15 Joined: Oct 3, 2011

Tries this but no luck for me.. still crashes after intro movies before getting to main menu.

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Nov 15 2011 - 3:01PM
Posts: 12 Joined: Oct 27, 2011

I finally got past the video screens by forcing the DX11 executable in the game folder to compatibility mode with Vista or Windows 7, but now I can't start a campaign; it returns to the main menu after I've chosen difficulty.


Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Nov 15 2011 - 5:12PM
Posts: 1 Joined: Nov 15, 2011

i7 2600 + GTX 560 here.


Single 1080p display (projector).


Win 7 64 Bit. Latest Nvidia driver.



The game process ends immediately after starting.


This happens with both DX9 and DX10/11 versions.


I have tried using older drivers as well as the latest beta driver.



Trying the above workaround I can get the DX11 client to display an empty window for half a second before shutting down.


The DX9 version manages to bring up a black full screen before crashing immediately.



Very disappointing to see THQ ship a product that simply does not work on essential PC hardware.

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Nov 15 2011 - 8:20PM
Posts: 5 Joined: Nov 15, 2011

Sorry to hear that this didn't work for others who had the same issues. So far everything works except for Saving for me now. I can't save/load the game due to some error with not enough space on the storage device. I've read a few people who also had that error.


Based on what I played so far though, all these pains of trying to play is definitly worth the wait. I was just amazed how much fun the game is starting out and really liked it. I hope these problems can be fixed so they don't take away from what otherwise might be one of the best games of the year.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Nov 17 2011 - 3:21PM
Posts: 5 Joined: Nov 15, 2011

I've confirmed my current problem was as I originally thougt.


First, I disabled UAC completely (requires reset, also make sure DEP is disabled).


Second, I copied Steam and SR3 to my C drive again, but this time I ran Steam from the C drive (I left my G Steam installed as normal). Upon running Steam and SR3, it updated Steam as well as SR3.


Now, I can run the game normally through Steam and Save Game works fine.


Everything seems to be working now, but this is a less than preferred solution since I have to now have Steam on two drives. My other Steam install works fine, which is good since my other games take up more space than I have avaliable on my SSD.


Arg, this was so frustrating, I hope it is fixed soon.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Nov 17 2011 - 5:18PM
Posts: 14 Joined: Nov 15, 2011

shouldnt have to do any of this. They just need to fix the game. Crap it is.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Nov 17 2011 - 11:08PM
Posts: 3 Joined: Nov 17, 2011

Yep same issue here, strangely I was able to run the game upon unlock at midnight no problem. But upon closing the game and then launching it again later once I had made a cuppa the game refuses to get to the main menu. Everytime I verify the .exes have problems. So I can only assume that there is a dodgy .exe change causing the problems.

Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Nov 18 2011 - 5:44AM
Posts: 5 Joined: Sep 17, 2011


Yep same issue here, strangely I was able to run the game upon unlock at midnight no problem. But upon closing the game and then launching it again later once I had made a cuppa the game refuses to get to the main menu. Everytime I verify the .exes have problems. So I can only assume that there is a dodgy .exe change causing the problems.





I had this problem from the very beginning, then steam decided to download a 2GB patch which solved it.


But now, it's back again.

Quick Reply
Cancel