Community

 
Post Reply
Quick Reply
Cancel
Page 1 of 6  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Double post glitch
4 years ago  ::  Apr 06, 2010 - 7:18AM #1
Rebel
Posts: 1,789
 Just thought I'd make you aware of this glitch which is really starting to annoy me now.



Let's just say that you're trying to make a post here and the page is starting to load slowly, so you naturally get annoyed and hit the Submit button again. What will happen is two copies of your post will be submitted, which can be very annoying and breaks a forum regulation.



Can you fix this issue? I propose that after you make a post, there should be a fifteen second wait until you can commence posting again. Not only would this obliterate the double post glitch, it would also do away with any spammers who wish to attack the forums in a spout of Internet rage. *cough* Jag Line *cough*
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Mar 30, 2010 - 8:03AM #2
V-Singular
Posts: 6,522
Well your first lesson here is learning to be patient.  Don't double click and let the loading/posting commence and that will avoid half the issue.



I do agree that this needs to be looked into, since you shouldn't be able to hit the refresh button and cause it to post again.  I'll get on it with the team and see if we can setup some new rules for the backend.


0 (0 Ratings)
Follow me on Twitter - @One_Letter (http://www.twitter.com/One_Letter)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Mar 30, 2010 - 8:05AM #3
Valdarez
Posts: 96
I double posted last night, and I couldn't delete my own message.  :(



I just now double sent a PM.  A simple javascript code segment could easily fix the problem.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Mar 30, 2010 - 12:48PM #4
Jus_call_me_J
Posts: 10,216
I just received a double message
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Mar 30, 2010 - 1:04PM #5
MelMel
Posts: 2,050

Yeah this glitch is pissing me off....Usually when people click twice it's to trigger it and get it going again e.g. Say I want to post something and it takes awhile to load so I click again and all of a sudden it posts real quickly. 



 I think this should be fixed along with the bad connection on the servers or whatever gets these forums running. This site is very slow since the upgrades and I've checked my computer connection and speed as well as going on various websites.

0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Mar 30, 2010 - 2:20PM #6
Rebel
Posts: 1,789
You're exactly right, Mel. I think my fifteen second post interval would be a good solution to the problem and it might also stop new members from treating the forums like an Internet chat room.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Mar 30, 2010 - 11:56PM #7
Valdarez
Posts: 96
V-Singular is right, it's us doing it.  On my double post, I simply didn't think I had clicked it because it had been 10 seconds, so I pressed it again.  On the PM I sent Just_Call_Me_J, I accidentally clicked it twice (using a MacBook Pro and Touch clicking).
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Mar 31, 2010 - 7:00AM #8
V-Singular
Posts: 6,522
Granted, you shouldn't be allowed to post twice within about 15-20 seconds anyway (anti-flood filter), so something is obviously not working and needs to be corrected.
0 (0 Ratings)
Follow me on Twitter - @One_Letter (http://www.twitter.com/One_Letter)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Mar 31, 2010 - 11:42PM #9
Rebel
Posts: 1,789
Have you taken it to the IT guys yet?
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Apr 01, 2010 - 5:22AM #10
EDeNYC101
Posts: 4,196
Don't double post. It's frowned upon. Thank you.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
Page 1 of 6  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Post Reply
Quick Reply
Cancel
Jump Menu:
    Viewing this thread :: 0 registered and 1 guest
    No registered users viewing